Skip to content
Meat Thermometer Digital

Meat Thermometer Digital

By Meat · Kitchen Utensils · Kitchen & Cooking

  • Temperature range -58°F to 572°F (-50°C to 300°C)
  • Accuracy ±1°F (±1°C)
  • Read time 2-3 sec
  • IP67 waterproof
  • 4000+ hour battery life

Price not listed

Used, refurbished, open-box

Stores are listed in a fixed order, never by price or commission. Prices are snapshots. Check the current price with the store.

Problems, parts and running costs

Summary

An inexpensive red instant-read food thermometer sold by Onfiky as model FM152, aimed at occasional home cooking and grilling. Check its accuracy in a 32°F ice bath on arrival, since no independent test of this exact model exists.

Strengths

  • Low upfront cost: Onfiky lists it at $9.98 against a $15.99 reference price (Onfiky, 2026-10-28).
  • Claimed practical feature set at a budget price: backlight, magnet, motion wake, °C/°F switch and a broad probe range.
  • Claimed 2–3-second spot checks, useful for keeping oven or grill openings short.
  • Advertised IP67 sealing and a fridge magnet suit quick cleanup and storage.
  • No app, account or subscription required; battery-powered and fully offline.

Weaknesses

  • Accuracy is claimed, not verified, and the “±1°F/±1°C” wording mixes two different unit sizes.
  • No independent response-time measurement exists; Onfiky says 2–3 seconds while some listings say 1–2.
  • Battery type is unspecified, so a replacement may not be available.
  • IP67 is asserted but not independently tested; a distributor’s care line says “Wipe Clean”.
  • No published warranty term, RMA process or repair parts; a failed unit means replacing the whole thermometer.
  • No exact-model owner reports or long-term durability data exist.

Verified specifications

Brand and modelONFIKY FM152, red instant-read digital cooking thermometer (UPC 799473213108).
Temperature span-58 to 572°F (-50 to 300°C), per Onfiky; this is the probe measurement range, not the safe ambient temperature for the handle.
Response timeOnfiky states 2–3 seconds; some third-party listings title the same model as 1–2 seconds.
Probestainless-steel foldable probe; overall length 6.5 in per secondary retailer metadata. Tip diameter, sensing point and sensor type are not specified by the maker.
BodyABS plastic housing in red; no verified mass, dimensions beyond 6.5 in, or drop-test standard.
Sealingclaimed IP67 and safe to rinse under running water; a distributor’s care field says “Wipe Clean”. No independent IP67 test found.
Displaylarge backlit LCD with a °C/°F switch and an unspecified simple calibration function.
Sleep and wakemotion-sensing wake with auto-sleep; no published auto-off timeout or standby current.
Batteryclaimed 4,000+ hours with power-saving; battery type, voltage and replaceability are not specified. Retailer metadata lists one unspecified battery included.
Magnetbuilt-in magnet for fridge, stove or grill storage; no pull-force or high-heat specification.
Usehand-held spot checks of meat, liquids and baked foods. Not a leave-in oven or smoker thermometer; no alarm, remote probe or logging.
Included itemsone thermometer and one unspecified battery per retailer metadata; no verified list of pouch, probe cover, instructions or spare parts.
Complianceno FDA registration, NSF certification, NIST-traceable certificate or independent IP67 lab report found.
Full research notes and sources

Accuracy and calibration

The direct listing states “±1°F/±1°C” without dividing the claim by temperature band, and 1°C equals 1.8°F, so the published text does not clearly state a Fahrenheit limit versus a Celsius limit. No NIST-traceable calibration certificate, assessed variation or measured error distribution for FM152 was found. A budget unit can read correctly in an ice bath while drifting at 165°F or 300°C, so an ice-point check alone does not prove accuracy across the cooking range.

Check the unit in a correctly prepared 32°F (0°C) crushed-ice bath without touching the container. If it is persistently out of tolerance, use any documented calibration instructions or return it. For critical use, compare it against a trustworthy calibrated reference near the temperatures you actually cook at.

Speed and everyday use

Onfiky states 2–3 seconds while a third-party import listing sometimes titles the same model as 1–2 seconds, with details saying “response time 2 seconds”. No independent reproducible time-to-stable-reading test exists, and response time depends on meat size and temperature and on whether the sensing tip is fully seated. The difference in wording is not a documented hardware revision.

The thermometer is for hand-held spot checks. It is not a leave-in oven or smoker thermometer: there is no temperature alarm, wired remote probe or wireless logging, and the ABS handle and display are not rated for 572°F ambient conditions even though the probe span reaches that high.

Waterproofing and durability

The seller claims IP67 and says the unit can be rinsed under running water. A distributor’s product-care field says “Wipe Clean”, and no accredited ingress test, aging test after battery access or gasket integrity data was found. Moisture can damage any unit with a damaged seal, so do not dishwash it, soak it or put it into boiling liquid. The magnet is advertised for storage on a fridge, stove or grill, but no pull-force or high-heat-safe specification is given, so keep the plastic body off hot metal and out of the oven.

Battery and running costs

The maker promises 4,000+ hours with smart power-saving but does not name the battery chemistry, IEC size, voltage or test duty cycle. Retailer metadata says one unspecified battery is included, and no replacement procedure, approved cell or price is published. If the unit stops powering on, read the printed markings and official battery-door instructions before buying anything; do not force the casing or guess polarity.

Typical ownership can cost $0 in a year if the original battery lasts and nothing breaks, because there are no cartridges, subscriptions or chargers. That is a scenario, not evidence that every unit survives 12 months. If a probe, hinge, display or seal fails, the whole $9.98 unit is likely the replacement, since no verified spare parts or repair quotes exist. No measured power draw or yearly energy use was found.

Support and warranty

Onfiky’s Contact Us page lists support@onfiky.com and claims 24/7 availability, but gives no documented response window, completed case or model-specific claim process. The “Warranty Extension” page exists but its readable text contains no duration, registration requirement, qualifying channel or exclusions. Onfiky’s About Us page says the company started in 2017; that is an unverified company claim, not proof of a mature service operation.

Ask the seller for applicable order terms in writing before relying on any generous return policy. Shipping, taxes and refund outcomes depend on the transaction. No verified ONFIKY FM152 customer exchange, warranty approval or resolution time was found.

Is it worth it?

At $8–10 delivered, FM152 is acceptable as an experiment for casual use if it passes an ice-bath check and the buyer has return rights. At $11–14 it is marginal, because support and parts information is missing while branded alternatives start around $15.98. At $15–20, prefer a directly sold Alpha Grillers unit ($16.99) or TempPro TP19H ($18.99), which offer clearer identity, specified batteries and support. At $25–40, choose a ThermoWorks ThermoPop 2 ($39) when calibration, precision and waterproofing reliability matter. The $9.98 figure against a $15.99 reference is seller marketing, not a validated historic discount.

Which model this is

This page covers the red instant-read thermometer sold by Onfiky as model FM152 (UPC 799473213108), advertised with a -58 to 572°F probe span, 2–3-second response, IP67 sealing, a backlit LCD and a built-in magnet. It is a hand-held spot-check tool, not a leave-in probe thermometer. Do not confuse it with ThermoPro/TempPro, Alpha Grillers, ThermoWorks or ThermoMonster products, which are separate instruments with their own specifications and support. No Amazon ASIN is published in the checked sources.

Sources

Manufacturer:

Independent reviews:

Other sources:

Buying guides for this category

Related products