
KEEMAKE 8 Inch Japanese Damascus Chef Knife VG 10 Steel Ultra sharp
By KEEMAKE · Kitchen Knives · Kitchen & Cooking
- 8 inch blade
- VG-10 steel core
- 67-layer Damascus
- 60±2 HRC
- 12-15 degree edge
Price not listed
- KEEMAKEView at KEEMAKE
- eBayView at eBay
- AmazonView at Amazon (paid link)
- eBay (used) eBay: used, open-box, refurbishedView at eBay (used)
Stores are listed in a fixed order, never by price or commission. Prices are snapshots. Check the current price with the store.
Summary
A budget 8-inch Damascus chef knife with a VG-10 core, a 67-layer blade and a full-tang G10 handle, sold direct by KEEMAKE at $79.99. Every specification comes from the seller and no independent test of this exact model was found, so confirm the return path before you buy.
Strengths
- Full-tang G10 handle with three rivets and a stated 8.96 oz weight.
- keemake.com lists the exact-title page at $79.99, below the brand’s own 8-inch Gyuto compare-at of $109.99.
- A 1-year warranty and a 30-day direct return window apply when you buy from keemake.com.
Weaknesses
- Every number on this page is a seller claim; no instrumented test of this exact model was found.
- The warranty covers only keemake.com purchases, so a marketplace buy gets no direct coverage.
- The 30-day return window needs the knife unused, in original packaging, with the buyer paying return shipping.
- The shipping pages contradict each other: free standard shipping for orders up to $49 and a $9.99 fee under $49, against a banner promising free shipping on $49+ orders.
- Neither product page lists what is in the box, while sibling knives are sold “with Gift Box”.
- The 67-layer cladding steel is not named, so whether it is stainless is not stated.
Verified specifications
| Blade length | 8 inch. |
|---|---|
| Core steel | VG-10. |
| Hardness | 60±2 HRC, stated by the manufacturer with no published test report. |
| Construction | 67 layers forged around the VG-10 core. |
| Edge | 12–15° plain edge, described as hand-honed. |
| Handle | G10, full-tang, three rivets. |
| Weight | 8.96 oz. |
| Dimensions | 8-inch blade; total length, blade width and spine thickness are not published. |
| Intended use | slicing, dicing, mincing and chopping vegetables, fruit, herbs, fish and boneless meat. |
| Not for | bones, frozen or semi-frozen food, glass or stone boards, and not as a screwdriver or can opener. |
| Cleaning | hand wash recommended. |
| Warranty | 1 year, covering only products bought from keemake.com. |
Full research notes and sources
What the seller claims
The manufacturer’s page states a 67-layer blade around a VG-10 core at 60±2 HRC, a hand-honed 12–15° plain edge, a full-tang G10 handle with three rivets and an 8.96 oz weight. Two brand pages describe the same blade: the exact-title page lists $79.99, and a longer-title page lists $99.99 and carries the weight figure. KEEMAKE also states the pattern comes from the layered construction and varies from blade to blade. No third party has measured the hardness, the edge angle, the layer count or the weight.
What is not known
No instrumented or hands-on test of this exact model was found, and no exact-model owner discussion was retrievable. The only third-party material located is a general KEEMAKE knife review video and a KEEMAKE-branded product short, neither watched in the research. Whether the 67-layer cladding is stainless or carbon steel is not stated, and the total length, blade width and spine thickness are not published. Package contents are not listed, and both pages show “In Stock” and an out-of-stock notice in the same buy box.
Warranty and returns
The 1-year limited warranty covers defects other than normal wear, misuse, abuse, alteration or negligence, and Keemake reserves the right to reject claims on products not bought from keemake.com. A replacement is the remedy, with 12 weeks allowed for inspection and return delivery. The direct store’s return window is 30 days on an unused item in original condition and packaging, with a receipt required and return shipping deducted from the refund. A knife bought through a marketplace sits outside both unless that marketplace supplies its own policy.
Shipping and packaging
The shipping-policy page gives free standard shipping for orders up to $49 and a $9.99 fee under $49, while the site banner promises free shipping on $49+ orders. For a $79.99 knife one reading is free shipping and the other is a $9.99 fee, so the real cost of a single-knife order is not established. The rest of the brand’s Damascus line sits around this knife, with an 8-inch Gyuto at $69.99 against a $109.99 compare-at and an 8-inch carving knife at $63.99 against $89.99.
Is it worth it?
At the $79.99 direct price this is cheap enough to try as a first Damascus-style blade, as long as you accept that the numbers are the seller’s. The $99.99 page buys no documented difference in steel, hardness, edge angle or handle. If you would pay more than $99.99, the case rests on a quality difference no independent test has documented for this model. The brand itself sells an 8-inch Gyuto at $69.99 and an 8-inch carving knife at $63.99, so compare those first. Buy through a channel with a return path you can actually use.
Which model this is
This page covers the KEEMAKE 8-inch Damascus chef knife with a VG-10 core, sold in the US under the exact title “KEEMAKE 8 Inch Japanese Damascus Chef Knife VG 10 Steel Ultra sharp”.
The Amazon listing for this knife is ASIN B0H8D3Q8YX.
Two keemake.com pages describe the same blade, one at $79.99 and one at $99.99, and the site publishes no model number, SKU or revision date, so match on the title and the page price before you buy.
Sources
Manufacturer:
- KEEMAKE 8 Inch Japanese Damascus Chef Knife VG 10 Steel Ultra sharp
- KEEMAKE Damascus Chef Knife for Kitchen - 8 Inch Professional Extra Sharp Kitchen Knife
- KEEMAKE Use & Care
- KEEMAKE Warranty - Limited Warranty
- KEEMAKE Refund policy
- KEEMAKE Shipping Policy
- About Keemake
- KEEMAKE DAMASCUS KNIFE collection
- KEEMAKE home page - store front, shipping banner and customer testimonials
Independent reviews:
Owner reports:
- No exact-model owner discussion was found in the research.



