Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Advanced 4-in-1 49925: problems, parts and running costs
Checked: 2026-10-18
Summary
The 49925 is a 5.5 in wide single-serve coffee maker that brews hot or iced coffee from K-Cup pods or ground coffee, with a 45 oz removable reservoir and regular or bold strength on hot coffee [1]. Owner evidence is thin: one report names this exact model flashing “add water”, and other FlexBrew family reports describe leaking, water suction failure and a plastic smell; no independent test of the 49925 exists [7]. Running cost is pods or ground coffee plus a charcoal water filter 2-pack at $15.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); the manufacturer lists it at $79.99, a good buy up to about $100 [1].
Common problems and fixes
- “Add water” flashing — an owner report naming this exact model says the machine flashes “add water”; no fix is documented [7]. Hamilton Beach publishes no warranty term for the 49925 and its warranty page defers to the per-product Use & Care booklet, so warranty coverage is unknown [1][2].
- Leaking around the single-serve side — reported in the same FlexBrew owner thread on a unit after roughly a decade of use; the model is not specified and no fix is documented [7].
- Water suction failure — a second report in the thread says a unit “just quit suctioning water at all”; the model is not specified and no fix is documented [7].
- Plastic smell on a new machine — “a pretty strong plastic smell I can’t seem to shake” from a new unit in the same thread; the model is not specified [7].
- Scale buildup — descaling is the documented periodic maintenance task; descaling supplies are the only upkeep cost apart from coffee or pods [1].
Parts and consumables
- Single-serve pod holder — $3.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); how often owners replace it is not reported. [1]
- Single-serve brew basket — $3.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); how often owners replace it is not reported. [1]
- Needle seal — $2.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); how often owners replace it is not reported. [1]
- Charcoal water filter 2-pack — $15.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); how often owners replace it is not reported. [1]
- Replacement travel mug — $15.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10). [1]
Yearly running cost
Not enough data for a yearly total. There are no subscriptions and no capsule lock-in — any K-Cup-compatible pod works [1]. The only priced consumable is the charcoal water filter 2-pack at $15.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); how often owners replace it is not reported, pods or ground coffee are owner-chosen with no per-cup price in the inputs, and electricity cost is not given.
When it is a good buy
The manufacturer lists the 49925 at $79.99 (Hamilton Beach, 2026-10); its page showed out of stock at check time [1]. Above about $100 the case weakens, because this segment has machines with instrumented test coverage and longer owner histories, and no independent test of the 49925 exists to justify a premium. Consumer Reports ranks Hamilton Beach fourth of 35 single-serve brands for predicted reliability in a 47,003-machine member survey of 2017-2025 purchases — brand-level data, not proof for this model [4][5].
Alternatives:
- Hamilton Beach 49929 or 49924 (5-in-1 with carafe) — the better choice when you brew more than one cup at a time; the 49925 has no carafe.
- Hamilton Beach 49921 (single-serve iced and hot, 50 oz reservoir) — the better choice if a larger reservoir matters more than the 5.5 in footprint.
- Entry Keurig or Ninja single-serve — the better choice when independent test coverage matters more than footprint.
Sources
- Hamilton Beach FlexBrew Advanced 4-in-1 Coffee Maker 49925
- Hamilton Beach warranty information
- Daily Brewer: Hamilton Beach FlexBrew review
- Consumer Reports: FlexBrew Single Serve Gen 4 49901
- Consumer Reports: FlexBrew 2-Way 49966
- Consumer Reports: FlexBrew 49974
- Hamilton Beach FlexBrew thread (r/BuyItForLife)