
FLASHFORGE Adventurer 5M 3D Printer Enclosure Kit
By FLASHFORGE · 3D Printing Accessories & Scanners · 3D Printing · More from FLASHFORGE
- Noise reduction: 65 dB to 55 dB
- Odor isolation for ABS/ASA printing
- Stable temperature for high-temp filaments
- Enhanced safety (hot parts, dust)
- DIY modular design (self-printed parts)
Price not listed
- FLASHFORGEView at FLASHFORGE
- WalmartView at Walmart
- eBayView at eBay
- AmazonView at Amazon (paid link)
- eBay (used) eBay: used, open-box, refurbishedView at eBay (used)
Stores are listed in a fixed order, never by price or commission. Prices are snapshots. Check the current price with the store.
Summary
A DIY enclosure accessory for the Flashforge Adventurer 5M that ships the non-printed hardware and asks you to print the structural parts yourself before a 26-step assembly; manufacturer claims include noise reduction from 65 dB to 55 dB, odor isolation for ABS and ASA, and stable temperatures for high-temperature materials. Confirm you have a working printer, filament, and the required hand tools before buying, since none of those come in the box.
Strengths
- Owners report printed and supplied parts fit well.
- Owners report reduced print noise after installation.
- The enclosure enables printing ABS and ASA.
- The kit is $39.99 on the manufacturer’s US store.
- Structural parts are user-printable, so damaged prints can be reprinted.
- The design is modular and upgradeable.
Weaknesses
- The kit is a DIY build: you must print multiple parts before assembly.
- No independent instrumented test was found.
- Overall dimensions, weight, panel material, and thickness are not specified.
- Warranty terms and duration are not stated.
- Some owners report installation friction, including a filament-detector mounting step.
- One owner reported a cracked top cover on delivery.
Verified specifications
| Compatibility | Flashforge Adventurer 5M only, per the installation manual. |
|---|---|
| Noise reduction (manufacturer claim) | 65 dB to 55 dB. |
| Odor control (manufacturer claim) | contains and reduces odors from materials such as ABS and ASA. |
| Temperature stability (manufacturer claim): maintains consistent internal temperature and supports high-temperature materials including ABS, ASA, and PC. | |
| Safety (manufacturer claim) | protects users and printer components from heat and dust; keeps children and pets safe. |
| Design (manufacturer claim) | modular and upgradeable, with printable parts for customization. |
| DIY requirement | some parts require self-printing for full assembly. |
| Assembly | 26 documented steps; tools required are 2.0 mm and 2.5 mm Allen wrenches and a Phillips screwdriver; instant adhesive is used for magnet holders. |
| Included non-printed hardware | top cover, front door plate, side plates (x2), drag chain, drag chain clip, extruder top cover, PTFE tubes (91 mm x2, 150 mm, 515 mm), screws (ST2.99.5 x11, M38 x7, M46 x20, M325 x2, M320 x2, M316), nuts (M3 x7), magnets (5*2 x33). |
| Self-printed parts | guard plates A1/A2/B1/B2/C1/C2/D1/D2, hinges (x2), spool holder, front door handle, top cover handle, drag chain fixing clip, magnet holders (x6), risers A/B/C/D, shielding plate. |
| Power | none; passive accessory with no electrical components. |
| Dimensions | not stated by the manufacturer on the pages checked. |
Full research notes and sources
DIY build and assembly
The kit ships the non-printed hardware—top cover, front door plate, side plates, drag chain, PTFE tubes, screws, nuts, and magnets—while you download and print the guard plates, risers, hinges, spool holder, handles, and other structural parts before assembly. The manual documents 26 steps and calls for 2.0 mm and 2.5 mm Allen wrenches, a Phillips screwdriver, and instant adhesive for the magnet holders. Installation also means removing screws and re-installing guard plates on the printer, so set aside time and a clean work surface. Screw types may vary by kit, and the manual notes that actual accessories may differ from the images.
Noise, odor and temperature claims
Flashforge claims the enclosure lowers printing noise from 65 dB to 55 dB, contains and reduces odors from materials such as ABS and ASA, and maintains a consistent internal temperature that supports high-temperature materials including ABS, ASA, and PC. The kit also protects users and printer components from heat and dust and keeps children and pets away from hot parts. None of these claims cite a measurement method, and no independent test of the kit was found, so treat the noise figure as a manufacturer claim rather than a verified result. One owner described the noise reduction as “a little,” while another called it “great,” so real-world results appear to vary.
Owner reports
Feedback on the manufacturer’s product pages is generally positive. Owners report that printed and supplied parts fit well, that the enclosure enabled printing ASA and ABS, and that it gives more control over ventilation, temperature, and noise in a small workshop. A few owners noted friction: one found the filament-detector mounting step awkward, though it worked in the end, and one received a cracked top cover on delivery while still rating the kit positively. These are individual reports, not prevalence data, and no failure-rate or long-term durability data were found.
What is missing from the evidence
The manufacturer pages do not state overall external dimensions, weight, panel material, or panel thickness, and no warranty terms or duration for the kit were found. Availability and cost of replacement non-printed parts are not documented, and no filament quantity or cost is given for printing the required parts. The US and EU pages share overlapping review content, suggesting a common review pool rather than separate regional counts. Panel material and thickness are not specified on the manufacturer pages checked; any material claim from other sources is unverified.
Is it worth it?
At the listed $39.99 USD on the manufacturer’s US store, the kit offers claimed noise reduction from 65 dB to 55 dB, odor isolation for ABS and ASA, temperature stability for ABS, ASA, and PC, and a safety enclosure for an open-frame printer, contingent on the user printing parts and completing a 26-step installation. Value is highest for an Adventurer 5M owner who already has a working printer, filament on hand, and the required tools; the kit’s cost does not include those inputs. Because no independent test data exist and owner evidence is limited to manufacturer-hosted reviews, paying significantly more than the listed price would be hard to justify on evidence.
Which model this is
This page covers the Flashforge Enclosure Kit for the Flashforge Adventurer 5M, also called the AD5M Enclosure DIY Kit, an accessory for the Adventurer 5M 3D printer. The installation manual applies the kit to the Adventurer 5M only, and the manufacturer lists a single variant type, Standard. No model or revision numbers, color variants, or regional hardware revisions are documented on the pages checked. Do not confuse it with enclosures for the Adventurer 5M Pro or AD5X, whose compatibility is not established here.
Sources
Manufacturer:
- Enclosure Kit for Flashforge Adventurer 5M (US)
- Enclosure Kit for Flashforge Adventurer 5M (EU)
- Printer Mod and DIY — Flashforge Wiki
- AD5M Enclosure Installation Guide (PDF)
- Flashforge guidance video (YouTube)
Independent reviews:
- No independent instrumented reviews were found.
Owner reports:






