Creality Falcon A1 Pro 20W Dual-laser Engraver: problems, parts and running costs
Checked: 2026-10-24
Summary
No independent test or exact-model owner discussion of this machine was located, so all performance figures are manufacturer claims and the issues below are manufacturer-documented cautions rather than measured failure rates. [1][3] Ownership costs extend beyond the machine (materials, optional IR module, optional air purifier, honeycomb and riser accessories, replacement lenses, and a LightBurn license after its 30-day trial), with no subscription or capsule lock-in. [1][3] The captured store price was $879.00 against a $1,099.00 compare-at figure (Creality official store, 2026-10-24); weigh warranty and return terms heavily before buying. [1]
Common problems and fixes
- Incomplete or shallow engraving — caused by poor focus or unclear images; autofocus is rated under 0.012 in but is sensitive to ambient light. Fix: improve focus and image clarity and check lighting. Warranty: 12 months for non-artificial performance failure under normal use; not a separately covered item. [3][2]
- Geometry distortion — a loose belt can turn circles into ellipses. Fix: adjust belt tension. [3]
- Incomplete cutting — caused by dirty lenses, poor leveling, or wrong parameters. Fix: clean the protective lens and air nozzle with a dust-free cloth and alcohol, level the machine, and correct parameters. [3]
- Thermal power drop during long runs — laser temperature rises, reducing output and causing uneven cutting. Fix: allow a 30 minute or longer cooldown. [3]
- IR module overheating — performance degrades below 20 C preheat and above 30-35 C; optimal range is 20-30 C. Fix: preheat below 20 C and avoid use above 35 C, which is excluded from warranty. [3]
- Flame-detection false alarms — can trigger near bright windows or in rapidly changing ambient light. Fix: relocate the machine or reduce ambient light. [3]
- Transparent acrylic cannot be cut — the blue laser source cannot cut transparent acrylic. Fix: use the optional 2 W IR module or a different material. [3][1]
- Air purifier strongly recommended — especially for acrylic and organic materials, per the manufacturer. Fix: add an air purifier to the setup. [3]
Parts and consumables
- Honeycomb plate — keep under wood to reduce back-side burn marks. [3]
- Replacement lenses — cost not stated in the sources. [1]
- LightBurn license — 30-day trial, then paid; Falcon Design Space and LaserGRBL are free. [1][3]
Yearly running cost
No annual service figure can be computed from the sources: the captured store listing showed $879.00 sale against $1,099.00 compare-at (Creality official store, 2026-10-24), and ownership costs are materials, an optional IR module, an optional air purifier, honeycomb and riser accessories, replacement lenses, and a LightBurn license after its 30-day trial. [1][3] No subscription or capsule lock-in applies. [1] Electricity and consumable replacement intervals are not stated. [3]
When it is a good buy
Price thresholds: captured sale price $879.00 against $1,099.00 compare-at (Creality official store, 2026-10-24). [1] Alternatives: machines with deeper independent test and owner histories; the decision should weigh enclosed safety, camera workflow and dual-laser flexibility against those. [1] Warranty runs 12 months for non-artificial performance failure under normal use, with the buyer shipping the item within 7 natural days after contacting support; IR module use above 35 C is excluded. [2][3]