Creality Creator PWR: problems, parts and running costs
Checked: 2026-10-24
Summary
Creator PWR is a Wi-Fi AC power controller and energy meter for compatible 3D printers, sold by Creality and built on BIQU’s Panda PWR hardware. The main reported concern is that the FCC report rates the AC input and switched output at 3 A while Creality’s compatibility list includes the 1,000 W K1 Max, so buyers should confirm the unit’s own label before use. No scheduled consumables or subscription are documented, and the unit was listed at $39.43 at Creality’s store in October 2026.
Common problems and fixes
- Firmware update or recovery can interrupt service — the BTT documentation provides a recovery tool for units that fail to boot or complete OTA updates, and warns that wrong firmware or power loss during flashing can interrupt service [5]. Recovery is documented but no success rate is published. Warranty coverage is not stated. [5]
- Automatic shutdown may cut cool-down — cutting mains power immediately after a print finishes can stop hotend fans and chamber ventilation; the documentation contains no temperature-based safe shutdown guarantee [5]. Enable automatic shutdown only after confirming the printer’s safe finish and cool-down logic. Warranty coverage is not stated. [5]
- Wi-Fi setup and local-network dependence — setup uses a temporary access point and a local page, usually 192.168.254.1, then joins a 2.4 GHz network; the printer link uses an IP address and port 4408, so router or IP changes can break job-aware shutdown [5]. USB1 and the AC output can still be switched with the button. Change the default access-point password after setup and keep the dashboard off the public internet. [5]
- USB2 stays on at all times — USB2 cannot be switched with USB1, so a switched accessory must use USB1 [5]. Workaround: connect switched loads to USB1 only. [5]
Parts and consumables
No replaceable parts or consumables reported.
Yearly running cost
No recurring subscription or consumable is documented, so the required yearly running cost is $0. The unit draws its own power but no verified standby wattage or meter accuracy was found, so net savings cannot be claimed. An illustrative example in the sources assumes a 10 W idle printer draw for 8 hours after each of 200 print days per year at $0.20 per kWh, saving 16 kWh (about $3.20) per year before subtracting a hypothetical 1 W continuous controller draw of 8.76 kWh (about $1.75) per year, leaving about $1.45 per year and a payback of about 27 years on a $39.43 unit. These figures are assumptions, not measurements of this model. [1][5]
When it is a good buy
Observed October 2026 listings: Creality store $39.43 (compare-at $49.29), variant tile $35.49; BIQU store $38.99 (regular $49.99); Newegg $52.97 with import shipping, time-limited through October 25; K2 accessory hub $53.36; Creality VIP catalog $62.90 [1][2][8][12][11].
- At or below $35 delivered (October 2026): reasonable only if the buyer specifically needs the documented Klipper completion workflow and can arrange a valid return option first; observed listings include a $35.49 variant tile at Creality’s store [1].
- $36 to $45 delivered (October 2026): conditional reasonable price for an owner who understands 2.4 GHz setup, one-shot shutdown and load limits; this is close to the manufacturer advertised band, with Creality at $39.43 against a $49.29 compare-at price and BIQU at $38.99 against a $49.99 regular price [1][2].
- Above $45 to $55 delivered (October 2026): a Shelly Plug US Gen4 at $24.99 offers 15 A / 1,800 W switching and a three-year warranty, but does not provide the printer-specific completion logic; buy the Creality unit only for that integration and only if electrically approved for the printer [9].
Named alternatives:
- Shelly Plug US Gen4 ($24.99) — 15 A / 1,800 W, UL certified, three-year warranty, power metering; better for US owners who need safe rated switching and monitoring, but it does not natively offer the Klipper completion workflow [9].
Sources
- Creality official US store: Creator PWR
- BIQU Equipment: BIGTREETECH Panda PWR
- FCC ID 2BAS6-PANDAPWRV1
- FCC-filed Panda PWR user manual
- BIGTREETECH Creator PWR documentation
- STS/BIQU FCC Part 15.247 test report (PDF)
- Newegg: Creality Creator PWR import listing
- Shelly Plug US Gen4
- Creality: K1 vs K1 Max vs K1C
- Creality VIP catalog: Creator PWR 4008030122
- Creality K2-series accessory hub
- TP-Link Kasa EP25 datasheet