Apple Watch SE 3: problems, parts and running costs
Checked: 2026-10-17
Summary
The most common complaints are battery life well below Apple’s 18-hour claim in some owner reports, and touch or display trouble that a few owners tie to the watchOS 26 update. Measured battery life in independent tests ran 23 to 78 hours, so the spread tracks use rather than a single defect. Running cost is close to zero unless you subscribe to Fitness+ ($9.99 a month) or add AppleCare+ ($29.99 for two years); at $239–250 it is the best-value Apple Watch, and above $300 the Series 11 is the better buy.
Common problems and fixes
- Battery below the claim in some owner reports — Reddit owners report the SE 3 lasting as little as 8 hours or “maximum one day”; individual reports, not defect rates, and most independent tests ran far longer (23 to 78 hours). No fix reported. [3][6][8][9]
- Touch and display trouble — one owner reports a display “unresponsive, and near the edges it’s nearly dead”; another reports touch screen issues after updating to watchOS 26; iFixit carries threads on blank screens and touch issues across SE models. Whether warranty or AppleCare+ covers these is not reported. [10][11][12]
- Thick bezels and a smaller display area — the 44mm SE 3 covers 977 sq mm against 989 sq mm on the 42mm Series 11, and the bezels are visibly thicker. No fix. [3]
- Cramped text — notifications and text feel tight next to the Series 11, even at 44mm. No fix. [3][6]
- No QWERTY keyboard — text entry is dictation, scribble or the paired iPhone. No fix. [3]
- Older heart sensor — the optical sensor is 2nd generation, a step behind the 3rd-generation sensor in the Series 11. No fix. [3]
Parts and consumables
- AppleCare+ (accidental damage) — $29.99 for two years, or $2.99 a month (price per Macworld’s AppleCare+ FAQ; store and month not specified); the standard warranty is one year against manufacturing defects. [14]
Yearly running cost
Not enough data for a typical total. There are no consumables and no required subscriptions, so an owner who skips the extras pays nothing beyond the purchase. Optional: Fitness+ at $9.99 a month if you use it, and AppleCare+ at $29.99 for two years ($2.99 a month), which covers accidental damage. The 20W USB-C power adapter is not in the box.
When it is a good buy
- $279 (Apple, September 2025) — the MSRP for the 44mm GPS model; at $279 it is still good value, though the gap to the Series 11 narrows. [1][2]
- $239 (Apple, refurbished) — Apple’s refurbished 44mm GPS SE 3 at $239, down from the $279 new price; at $239–250 it is a strong value. [7]
- $249 (Walmart and Apple, September 2026) — the street price Wirecutter lists at both stores. [5]
- Above $300 — weak value unless you specifically want the SE form factor; the Series 11 at $399 offers substantially more. [3][5]
- Alternative: the Apple Watch Series 11 at $399 adds ECG, blood oxygen, hypertension notifications, a 2,000-nit display and thinner bezels; it is the better choice when you need those health sensors or the better screen. [3][5]
Sources
- Apple Watch SE 3 — Technical Specifications
- Buy Apple Watch SE 3
- I Tested the Apple Watch SE 3 and Didn’t Feel Any FOMO — CNET
- Apple Watch SE 3 (44mm) GPS — Consumer Reports
- Refurbished Apple Watch SE 3 GPS 44mm
- Apple Watch SE3 battery life lasts 8 hours — Reddit
- My Apple Watch SE3 battery sucks — Reddit
- Concerns About Apple Watch SE 3 — Reddit
- Anyone else had touch screen issues since updating — Reddit
- Apple Watch SE repair issues — iFixit
- Apple Service and Repair for Apple Watch
- AppleCare+ pricing — Macworld