Apple iPad 11 (A16): problems, parts and running costs
Checked: 2026-10-17
Summary
The most common complaints are the non-laminated display, which leaves a visible air gap and parallax when drawing, a screen that is dim outdoors even at full brightness, and a USB 2.0 port that caps wired transfers at 37 MB/s. A smaller group of owners report ghost touch, overheating and battery drain, while measured tests show neither as a design flaw. There are no user-serviceable parts; the only running costs are optional accessories and AppleCare+, and at $349–399 it is the strongest budget iPad while above $449 the iPad Air becomes the better buy.
Common problems and fixes
- Dim outdoors — the screen is hard to read in bright light even at maximum brightness. No fix; a limitation of the 500-nit panel. [3][4][9]
- USB 2.0 port — capped at 480Mb/s; Macworld measured 37 MB/s against 700 MB/s on the iPad Air, making large file transfers painfully slow. No fix. [1][2][5]
- No Apple Intelligence — 6GB of RAM sits below the 8GB minimum, so none of the writing, image and assistant tools will arrive on this model. Not fixable by update. [3][4][5]
- Pencil compromises — Apple Pencil (USB-C) has tilt but no pressure sensitivity; the 1st-generation Pencil needs a USB-C adapter to pair and charge and never attaches or charges wirelessly; Pencil Pro and the 2nd-generation Pencil do not work at all. If pressure matters, this is the wrong iPad. [1][2]
- Ghost touch — some owners on Reddit report ghost touch that makes the device “virtually unusable”; these are individual reports, not defect rates. [8]
- Overheating and battery drain — some Reddit owners report both, in one case resolved by a factory reset; Macworld measured 93.94% performance retention after a 20-minute sustained load and called overheating a non-issue. [8][5]
- Flat, quiet speakers — lower volume and “very flat” sound next to higher-end iPads. No fix. [7]
Parts and consumables
- Apple Pencil (1st generation) — needs a USB-C to Apple Pencil adapter to pair and charge; does not attach or charge wirelessly. [1]
- Magic Keyboard Folio — $249 (price as listed in reviews; store and month not specified); sold separately, white-only, with no backlit keys and pogo-pin power. [4][6] The iPad itself has no user-serviceable parts; battery replacement goes through Apple service, with no published price.
Yearly running cost
Not enough data for a typical yearly figure. There are no consumables and no required subscriptions: OS and security updates are free, and Apple provides them for 4–5 years based on its historical pattern. The standard warranty is one year, extendable with AppleCare+ (price not reported in these sources). The only planned spend for most owners is the odd accessory — the Magic Keyboard Folio at $249 is the big one.
When it is a good buy
- $349 (Apple, March 2025) — the launch price for the 128GB Wi-Fi model; at $349–399 it is a strong value for students, families and casual users. [3]
- $449 (Apple, June 2025) — the raised price, citing memory and storage component costs; at $400–449 it is fair value, and the gap to the iPad Air (M3) at $599 narrows. [3]
- $399–449 (retailers, per reviews) — current street prices reported across retailers. [4][5]
- Above $449 — weak value; at this price the iPad Air becomes a significantly better option. [4][10]
- Alternative: the iPad Air (M3) at $599 adds Apple Intelligence, a laminated display and 120Hz ProMotion, and is the better choice when you want any of those. [4][10]