Apple MacBook Air 13 (M4): problems, parts and running costs
Checked: 2026-10-17
Summary
The most common complaints are the base 256GB SSD running slower than the 512GB model because it uses a single NAND chip, the chassis heating up under sustained load (the design is fanless), and the absence of a nano-texture display option and Wi-Fi 7. There are no replaceable parts or consumables; the only running costs are an optional AppleCare+ plan and a faster USB-C adapter if you want quick charging. It is a good buy at the $999 launch price (Apple, March 2025) and a stronger one near $799 (Best Buy, sale date not specified).
Common problems and fixes
- Slower base SSD — the 256GB model uses one NAND chip instead of two, so read and write speeds trail the 512GB model; Tom’s Guide wrote it wishes “the SSD were a bit faster”. This is the configuration, not a defect, so warranty does not apply. [5]
- Heat under sustained load — with no fan the laptop warms up during long heavy workloads while staying silent. No fix beyond lighter workloads; a design characteristic, not a defect. [6]
- 8-core GPU ceiling — the base model ships an 8-core GPU and graphics-intensive workloads are limited; the 10-core GPU sits in the 15-inch model and higher configurations. No fix. [5][7]
- No nano-texture display — the anti-glare nano-texture option is reserved for MacBook Pro. Nothing to fix or claim; an omission, not a defect. [5]
- No Wi-Fi 7 — Wi-Fi 7 arrived with the M5 generation; the M4 Air stays on Wi-Fi 6E. No fix. [5]
- 256GB storage ceiling — owners with large media libraries or professional workloads can run out of space, and storage cannot be expanded after purchase. Buy the 512GB configuration up front if it matters. [6]
- All ports on the left — both Thunderbolt 4 ports and MagSafe sit on the left side, which is inconvenient for right-handed users. No fix. [6]
- Thick bezels — the chassis, display and port layout are unchanged from the M2 and M3 generations, so the bezels look dated after several generations. Cosmetic; no fix. [5]
Parts and consumables
No replaceable parts or consumables reported. The enclosure has no user-serviceable internals; battery replacement requires Apple service with no published price. In the box are a 30W USB-C adapter (or a 35W dual USB-C adapter) and a 2 m USB-C to MagSafe 3 cable; fast charging needs a 70W-or-higher USB-C adapter sold separately. [1]
Yearly running cost
Not enough data for a typical yearly figure. There are no consumables and no required subscriptions: macOS software updates are free and typically supported for 7+ years. [1]
When it is a good buy
- $999 (Apple, March 2025) — the launch price for the base 16GB/256GB configuration, a $100 reduction from the M3 model; at this price it offers strong value for portable productivity and light creative work. [5][6]
- $1,099 (Tom’s Guide listing) — likely a higher configuration or a price fluctuation; a sign to check the configuration before paying over launch price. [5]
- $799 (Best Buy, sale date not specified) — the record-low price reported by TechRadar; at sale prices around $799 the value proposition is excellent. [8]
- Alternatives: the MacBook Air 13 (M4, 512GB) uses two NAND chips and is the better choice when storage speed matters; the MacBook Air 15 (M4) offers the 10-core GPU and suits graphics-heavy work; the MacBook Air 13 (M3) shares the chassis, display and port layout and is the better choice when it sells for less, since the M4 is “an improvement on the M3’s” but “not a big leap”. [5][6][7]