Skip to content
70mai A800SE+PS01 4K Dash Cam

70mai A800SE+PS01 4K Dash Cam

By 70mai · Dash Cams · Audio & Electronics · More from 70mai

  • 4K UHD 3840x2160 at 30FPS
  • HDR with F1.55 aperture
  • Dual-channel recording with RC22 1080P rear cam
  • Buffered emergency recording up to 3 min before collision
  • Supercapacitor rated up to 500,000 charge cycles

Price not listed

Used, refurbished, open-box

Stores are listed in a fixed order, never by price or commission. Prices are snapshots. Check the current price with the store.

Problems, parts and running costs

Summary

The 70mai A800SE is a screen-equipped 4K front dash cam with HDR, GPS, 5-mode ADAS and an optional 1080p rear camera. The one thing to check before buying is the memory card: the most common owner complaint is dropped frames that 70mai support ties to a card that cannot be written to.

Strengths

  • True 4K front recording at 30 fps with no upscaling, plus HDR for difficult lighting.
  • Built-in GPS, 5-mode ADAS, 24-hour parking mode and Wi-Fi 6 in one mid-range unit.
  • Daytime 4K detail is strong: an owner says plates, road signs and lane detail are easier to inspect than on a previous generic recorder.
  • It stayed reliable over three weeks of night commuting, with front and rear files present on every check.
  • One owner reports it captured the registration plate of a car that clipped a mirror.
  • The front unit lists at $99.99 at 70mai’s US store (2026-10-20), below the A810 Lite at $149 quoted by a buyer in March 2026.

Weaknesses

  • The microSD card is the dominant failure point: owners report dropped seconds that 70mai support attributes to a card that cannot be written to.
  • One owner’s card died in about a week while recording 4K30 plus 1080p30, with heat in a parked car named as the cause.
  • Clips cannot be reviewed offline because the app’s device album requires a connection to the camera’s own Wi-Fi.
  • Parking mode enters inconsistently with the OBD-II kit, sometimes within 1–2 minutes of locking and sometimes not after 20.
  • One owner calls the footage blurry and cannot read plates, and says night video is weaker than day.
  • No instrumented third-party test of this model exists, so the F1.55 aperture, HDR, 3-minute buffer and ADAS remain manufacturer claims.

Verified specifications

Front video4K UHD 3840x2160 at 30 fps, recorded without upscaling.
HDRhardware-level, which 70mai says works in tunnels, on backlit roads and at night.
ApertureF1.55, paired with the Super Night Vision algorithm.
Emergency recordingbuffered footage of up to 3 minutes before an impact, plus the impact and 30 seconds after.
Power storagesupercapacitor, described as handling extreme working temperatures.
GPSbuilt in; speed, time and coordinates are logged in the 70mai app.
Driver aids5-mode ADAS.
Parking mode24-hour surveillance using G-sensor collision detection plus time-lapse.
Connectivitybuilt-in Wi-Fi 6 for app control.
Screen3-inch LCD; the manufacturer tags it only “With Screen” and the panel type is unconfirmed.
Field of view140 degrees, reported by an owner; not stated on the manufacturer’s product data.
Rear cameraoptional 1080p unit, sold with the front camera in the front-plus-rear bundle.
Frame-rate options24 or 30 fps.
Weight144 g for the main unit.
In the boxone owner lists the RC22 rear camera, power cord, rear cable, USB car charger, electrostatic sticker, heat-resistant adhesive, trim tool and a 128 GB card.
Firmware1.138.ww, seen in the field.
Loop recordingsupported.
Full research notes and sources

Image quality and night vision

The A800SE records 4K at 30 fps without upscaling and uses hardware-level HDR, an F1.55 aperture and a Super Night Vision algorithm, all manufacturer claims. The only third-party hands-on source found is a YouTube comparison of four 70mai 4K cameras, which describes the A800SE as one of the better affordable 4K dash cams for true 4K image quality and HDR balance; the video was not watched, so it offers no measured numbers.

An owner who commuted at night for three weeks says daytime 4K footage made plates, road signs and lane detail easier to inspect than on a previous generic recorder, but that night video is weaker than day and that “super night vision” oversells what is visible. Another owner reports the opposite complaint, calling the footage blurry and unable to read plates, with a community answer pointing at Sony Starvis-based cameras such as the Viofo A229 Plus. Treat sharpness as the model’s most contested point.

Memory card, storage and app

Storage is the workflow that owners actually fight. In one thread the owner runs firmware 1.138.ww with a SanDisk Extreme Pro card and sees recordings skip a few seconds; 70mai support says the card cannot be written to and advises a slow full reformat on a computer, reported as taking 3–4 hours, or replacing the card with a 70mai or Lexar unit.

The app is the other friction point. Recorded clips cannot be reviewed offline because the device album insists on connecting to the dash cam’s own Wi-Fi hotspot. Budget for a card and format it on a computer rather than in the camera.

Parking mode and ADAS

The manufacturer advertises 24-hour parking surveillance using G-sensor collision detection plus time-lapse, but does not state which hardwiring hardware the A800SE requires. An owner using the 70mai OBD-II parking kit reports parking mode entering inconsistently — sometimes within 1–2 minutes of locking, sometimes still in driving mode after 20 — and observes that opening the 70mai app in the car seems to trigger it. A hardwire kit is a common add-on rather than a bundled item.

ADAS is a 5-mode system. An owner who bought the A800SE for it is still asking how well the lane-departure warning works on highways and whether it false-alarms during overtakes; no answer was found. The same owner frames ADAS as an extra prompt rather than a substitute for the car’s own systems.

Running costs and value

The 70mai US store lists the front unit at $99.99 (compare-at $129.99) and the front-plus-rear bundle at $139.99, read on 2026-10-20. A Reddit buyer in March 2026 quoted the same front unit at $99 against the A810 Lite at $149. Korean listings put the RC22 rear camera at 38,630–57,630 KRW on 11st and 46,400 KRW on AliExpress, and an A800SE-compatible CPL filter at 26,100 KRW.

Recurring costs are a microSD card, given the reported failures, a hardwire or OBD-II kit for parking mode, and an optional CPL filter.

Is it worth it?

At $99.99 for the front unit the A800SE is the value tier for a 4K front camera with HDR, GPS, ADAS and Wi-Fi 6. The main risk is not image quality but the storage and app workflow. At $139.99 the buyer is paying roughly $40 for the RC22 dual-channel capability. Above roughly $150 the comparison set changes: the A810S is the same physical size as the A800SE and a different model, so check whether the extra money buys a newer sensor generation, 4G cloud connectivity or better parking-mode behaviour rather than screen size. Buyers who want ADAS, GPS and a usable screen without paying for 4G are the A800SE’s target.

Which model this is

This page covers the 70mai A800SE, sold in the US store under SKUs 6830AA800479 (front unit) and 6830AA800480 (front plus rear). The “PS01” suffix in some listings is not found on the manufacturer site, in the product data, in the manual listing or in owner discussion, and appears to be a retailer bundle code. The Amazon listing for this model is ASIN B0FT34MTLZ. Don’t confuse it with the A800S or the A810, which 70mai treats as separate models with different sensors.

Sources

Manufacturer:

Independent reviews:

Owner reports:

Retail listings:

Buying guides for this category

Compare with

Related products